Top 6 Fictional Couples

 

Happy Walmart You’ve Gone Too Far Valentine’s Day, wordmigos! Just for kicks and giggles, I’ve compiled a list of my six favorite fictional couples in order of favorite-ness. Comment below with some of yours!

Anything goes for my list: books, movies, t.v. shows, and video games are all contenders!

Honorable mentions: Han and Leia, Wall-E and Eve

#6. Shasta (Cor) and Aravis (Narnia: The Horse and His Boy)

The two protagonists from my favorite Narnia story. It’s been a long time since I’ve read the Narnia series, but these two still stand out as a dynamic duo.

“Aravis also had many quarrels (and, I’m afraid, even fights) with Cor, but they always made it up again: so that years later, when they were grown up, they were so used to quarreling and making it up again that they got married so as to go on doing it more conveniently.”
C.S. Lewis, The Horse and His Boy

#5. Carl and Ellie (Up)

Do I really have to say anything? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

carl-and-ellie

#4. Link and Zelda (Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword)

Link and Zelda characters have a long history (as in a couple thousand Hyrulian years). But the Skyward Sword rendition of the pair takes the cake for its raw emotional impact. (Also…Zelda pushes Link off a cliff, so it’s kind of hard not to pick them.)

link-and-zelda

#3. Billy Bannister and Bonnie Silver (Dragons in our Midst)

I’m guessing the vast majority of you haven’t heard of this series (shame on you). Billy and Bonnie’s relationship starts as a pure and strong friendship, and it grows into something more meaningful and genuine than 99% of today’s fictional ‘romance’ relationships. Simply put, these two set quite the example for what a real relationship should look like. Oh, and yeah…she has wings and he breathes fire.

billy-and-bonnie

#2. Taran and Eilonwy (Prydain Chronicles)

I love everything about this couple: their genesis as mutually-aggravating allies, their development into a classic fantasy couple, and the emotional conclusion to their story at the end of the series. Note: the 80’s Disney film based on these books is garbage. They missed the mark by a mile and then some. 

“I can’t make sense out of that girl,” [Taran] said to the bard, “Can you?”

“Never mind,” Fflewddur said, “We aren’t really expected to.”
Lloyd Alexander, The Book of Three

#1. Hera and Kanan (Star Wars: Rebels)

Call it my utter geekdom when it comes to Star Wars. Call it my recent binge-watching of Rebels. Call it my “finally, a Jedi gets a proper relationship” outlook. Call it the fact that Ezra, Sabine, and Zeb make great unruly kids and Chopper makes the perfect family cat. Call it the raw emotions at the end of Season 2 (no spoilers, don’t worry!). Call it the fact that it doesn’t dominate the show, but it’s definitely there. Call it the fact that they argue, disagree, disappoint each other, forgive each other, yet always care and always help each other grow as individuals. Or call it all of the above.

kanan-and-hera


Glad you stopped by! Now run along and eat some chocolate (let’s be real: that’s the true reason for the season). In the meantime, have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Top 6 Fictional Couples

  1. oohh cool! I’ve actually heard of most of those (except for #1 & #2) Lets see my favorite fictional couples would probably be Hulk and Caiera, Aquaman and Mera, and lastly Superman and Wonder Woman

    Like

    1. Dude!!! I totally forgot!!! I LOVE Hulk and Caiera, Aquaman and Mera!!!! I have not read Superman and Wonder Woman yet… but I have to say that they make a better match than their original couples ever did ;).

      Like

  2. The Horse and His Boy is my FAVOET Narnia book! Hence, I have no idea why it is the least liked book of the series :/ So it is great to see it is someone else’s favorite too!!! =D

    Like

  3. I would have to say my favorite fictional couple is Faramir and Eowyn (yes, over Aragorn and Arwen). Especially as I’ve gotten older, the short chapter about the development of their relationship has become the highlight of the trilogy for me.

    Like

      1. They’re absolute masterpieces (and this is making me even more excited to read your books!) 😀 Lloyd Alexander is my favorite author. As much as I loved Prydain, Westmark was the series that really stole my heart 🙂

        Like

  4. Love your choices! And yes I’ve read Dragons in Our Midst! I love Bonnie and Billy! And I love so much that you picked Link and Zelda. Love those too. <3. Also I read your bio and noticed you live in Spain. That's so cool! I'm curious about how long you've been living there. Do you like it? It sounds like an awesome experience!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

