Book Review | Star Wars: A New Dawn

Spoiler-free review: 4.5, considering my pre-established love for the characters. I bought the book because I wanted to read the story of how Kanan and Hera met. On that premise, it certainly delivered, and it further solidified Hera in particular as one of my favorite Star Wars characters. Two issues kept me from giving it 5 stars, however:

a. Frequent backstory drifts bogged the plot down a bit too frequently (but halfway through the book I figured out when/where to skim, so it’s not a huge deal).

b. The plot itself wasn’t super innovative. Bad guy wants to blow something up, good guys need to stop him. But the book, for me at least, was never really about the plot. It was about the characters. The plot could’ve been about rice farming and I still would’ve read it.

Favorite character: Hera Syndulla
Least favorite character: probably Skelly (sorry…just obnoxious).
Standout line: “Okadiah! Tell [Hera] about me!”
“A fine pilot, an occasional humanitarian, and a somewhat tolerable houseguest. Marry him, my darling!”


Now, is it greedy of me to really want a book (or two) about Kanan and Hera’s adventures together leading up to Rebels? I’ll sit here waiting for that to happen. In the meantime, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

