#NaNoWriMo Week 1 – Already Behind Schedule

The first full week of #NaNoWriMo 2016 is drawing to a close. This has been my first experience with NaNoWriMo (referred to hereafter as NaNo because I’m lazy), and I’ve seen a bit of everything.

I’ve seen people faithfully update their word count and stay par. I’ve seen people plow ahead and leave their daily word quota in the dust. I’ve even seen a few cheeky writers claiming to have finished the 50k words already (I mean, I guess it’s possible, but I worry for their health).

And then there’s me. The guy who managed to fall almost 2k words behind schedule in fewer than seven days. Am I super worried? No, because I know I can make up for lost ground in a few days. But it’s been interesting to observe things play out in different ways for different writers.

Here’s a quick breakdown of my first week of NaNo:

The writing

As of this morning (Monday the 7th), I’m sitting at 8705 words, which, as I’ve already stated, is under par. By the end of today, I’ll have crossed the 10k checkpoint, and with a bit of extra work I’ll get back to par at 11,700 words.

Despite being a bit behind, I’m having loads of fun with the story. As many of you know, I’m writing the sequel to Where the Woods Grow Wild, and I’m super excited to get deeper into this project.

The challenges

The challenges I’ve faced during the first week of NaNo have been, primarily, two: finding time to write every day, and finding energy to write every day. There are days when I don’t get home from work until 9:00 or 9:30 p.m., and by that time, I’m pretty worn out. I know everyone’s in the same boat, because life keeps us on our toes, right?

The rewards

I love the NaNo community. You guys on Twitter are fantastic at encouraging and motivating each other, and it’s so awesome to see all these random writers working together towards a common goal. NaNo isn’t a contest. It’s not a race. It’s a collective endeavor, and the writing community truly reflects that. Keep it up!

Reminders and tips (for myself) for week 2

  • Discipline trumps inspiration (duh)
  • Don’t put off writing for the end of the day, if possible
  • Use the NaNo progress chart to stay motivated
  • Don’t worry about other writers’ progress
  • Value the ‘forced’ productivity
  • Drink more coffee

How is NaNoWriMo treating you so far? How much progress have you made? What sort of changes or objectives will you set for week 2? Let me know! In the meantime, have a great day.

4 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Week 1 – Already Behind Schedule

  1. Oh my goodness Nate! How on earth did you manage to write over 8000 words in one week? I’ve been attempting (and failing miserably) at doing Nanowrimo, so I applaud you for being able to do that much while keeping up with everything else. šŸ™‚

    But now (completely off subject) I wanted to let you know that I have tagged you for the Book-Room Challenge! https://learnedinthelore.wordpress.com/2016/11/04/the-book-room-challenge/.

    I hope you have fun, but don’t take it until Nanowrimo is over! šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Haha, well, 8k isn’t that much compared to how much some of the others have been writing :O but it’s great fun! …most of the time.

      That looks like a fun tag! I’ll definitely write it down to do at some point. Thanks for the tag ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m only at 5K, but since I’m just kind of using the idea of NaNo and November as motivation to try and finish off the first draft of a project, I’m not overly concerned. šŸ™‚

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

