Don’t Put Off Learning New Things

Today I’m not talking about writing. I’m just tipping over a paint bucket with some of my thoughts from the last few days. As the title suggests, those thoughts have been about learning new things.

You see, while writing fiction is definitely my main passion, there are two things I’ve always wanted to do that, as of now, I can’t. The first is to sing. I’ve more or less accepted that as a no-go, which is fine. The second, however, is digital art. I love digital artwork, especially when it comes to character inspiration for my stories. I admire and respect the talent digital artists possess.

Now, I’ve been into drawing (off and on) since my teen years. With a pencil and paper, I’m decent. Not amazing, but decent. But for the last few years, I get an itch in my creative soul every time I see a work of digital art that I truly like.

It’s always been a “Man, I wish I could make art like that…but” sort of thing. I assumed that sort of artistic skill was out of my reach, and I settled for wishing. I’m not really sure what brought this about, but last week I got fed up with wishing and decided to do something about it.

What, exactly? Well, I consulted a few artist friends and ordered a graphic drawing tablet (a Wacom Intuos). It arrived this Monday, and I started what looks to be a long process of learning digital art.

Let me tell you, it’s hard stuff. I’m going to have to work a lotย and exercise loads of patience and diligence in order to get to where I want to be. But I’m glad I took the leap. Sure, digital art probably won’t ever be more than a hobby, but why should I settle for wishful thinking when I have the chance to tackle a new (albeit daunting) endeavor?

I guess this post is a glorified encouragement note. If there’s a skill or ability you wish you had, and if you want it bad enough, go get it. Try, try again, and see where the process takes you. I wish I had acted upon my wishing much sooner, but hey, it’s never too late to start, right?

If something tickles your interest, give it a shot.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Have a great day, everyone.

14 thoughts on “Don’t Put Off Learning New Things

  1. For years I wanted to draw life like people. I tried in the past, but I was not so great. Cartoons/anime were easiest for me to draw. So I gave it a shot recently and found out I’m much better than I thought. I know what you mean about wishing to do art like other people. Now, I’m happy to say I can. Like you, I want to get into digital art in the near future.

    I wish you the best with it and hope to see your art. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Congratulations!!! I think it’s great that you’re doing this on the side. I actually first got into digital art in exactly the same way a couple of years back. I kept seeing all these awesome digital paintings on DeviantArt, and finally became determined to learn how to do them myself. Now, I’m not a particularly good artist (yet), but I still really enjoy drawing, and I keep practicing whenever I can find the spare time. Someday I’d like to illustrate my own work. If you have any questions about the digital art process, feel free to ask me. Like I said, I’m not an expert, but I do have a lot of experience fooling around with Wacoms (and Photoshop, and Manga Studio). I can at least point you in the direction of helpful resources. Sycra, DrawWithJazza, and Robert Marzullo are great people to look up on YouTube for helpful videos. You can also browse through my Pinterest and DeviantArt accounts for tutorials, if you’d like:

    http://kylerobertshultz.deviantart.com/

    Happy drawing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

