Writerly Plans for Fall 2016

Hello, friends and readers!

Another academic year is underway, and the Fall season is fast approaching. It’s a period of change and transition for a lot of us, and I’m no exception. Here’s a preview of what I have in store for the remaining months of 2016.

Day jobs

Last year I started work as an online class supervisor at a school here in Sant Cugat (best city in Spain). That job kicked back to life last week, and I’m in the thick of classes already.

This Fall I’m also adding a new day job, as some of you saw on Twitter. I got a job teaching private English classes (as a second language) at an academy, so that’ll fill up a few afternoons.

Writing plans

While my beta readers are going through Where the Woods Grow Wild, I have several plans to keep myself busy. I’ve already started writing a sequel, simply because I couldn’t bear to not spend more time with my characters.

As soon as I hear back from my beta readers, however, I’ll dive into more edits accordingly. My top priority this Fall is to get Where the Woods Grow Wild perfected (in the achievable sense of the word) and published. A lot of people keep asking when it’s coming out, and my answer remains the same…soon!

Publication plans open up a lot of other boxes of things to get ready for: a release party, a book signing in town, final touches on design, etc. I’m working to have all that ready to go!


Fall is my favorite season by far. The cooler weather, rainy days with tea, and general festivities always invigorate me. I’m excited for what the following months have in store. What sort of plans do you have for the rest of 2016?

18 thoughts on “Writerly Plans for Fall 2016

  1. It is amazing how fast your plate fills up when publishing a book! Doing things right is not for the faint of heart! I look forward to your book release!

    I am working on book two of my historical fantasy story and plan to use NaNoWriMo to complete the first draft and get a head start on the third installment of The Vu.

    Have a great day!

    Like

  2. I’m angry at myself for not being further along with my writing. My goal was to submit at least three short stories, but due to some transitioning, I didn’t get to.

    For the rest of the year, my goals are to:

    1. Write three short stories and submit them for publication
    2. Finish Clash of Tides
    3. Plot out 9/Nine Realms and prepare to write it next year
    4. Finish up my writing classes

    Like

  3. Hurrah for sequels, I loved reading your first chapter! Have you picked up any good tips for the release party that you could share? I’m planning one too for my first novel and have no idea where to start!

    Like

  4. A sequel! Hooray! I can’t for the first book to be released.

    I’m trying to finish editing and fixing up my MS. I’m hoping to finish by November. Sometime after that, I’m going to request a second round of betas.

    How long have you been working on WTWGW?

    Like

Leave a Reply

