Where The Woods Grow Wild: Synopsis Reveal and Beta Reader Request

*Deep breath* Okay, here we go. The sneak peek series for Where The Woods Grow Wild is officially starting. If you missed the announcement and the schedule last week, check out this post so you know what’s coming up.

Synopsis Reveal

First things first: the synopsis, as promised. This was no easy task. I tried to write the synopsis as close to the back-cover blurb as I could, as opposed to a long, dreary summary. It’s a bit on the long side to go on a book cover, I think, so I’ll have to make some cuts in the future. But for now, this is what we have.

Beyond the streets of Bardun Village, a forest grows. Nobody goes in. Nothing comes out. The townspeople abide by the unspoken rule not to meddle with whatever mysteries hide in the trees.

Martin Colter just wants to make it through another workday at the Cabbage Cart Inn. Elodie Tuck would rather climb trees in the orchard than run errands for the mayor. Together, they’ll do anything to liven things up, until a mischievous escapade lands Martin behind the tree line, where an unknown creature lurks in the dark.

Martin makes it out of the forest—barely. Left with one hand and a strange poison in his veins, he and Elodie must adapt to a new way of life.

But the forest isn’t done with them yet. When Martin and Elodie return to the woods in search of the animal that maimed him, they find more adventure than they bargained for.

Separated and lost in a tangle of fantasy, they discover that more than animals come to play where the woods grow wild.

Getting in was easy. Getting back out is the tricky part.

My main struggle with the synopsis/blurb was deciding how much to reveal. As a reader, I generally want to know as little as possible about the plot specifics when I pick up a book. I prefer concepts and hints. At the same time, I want my audience to know what they’re getting into.

Of course, feedback for improvement is always welcome! This is as close to completion as I could wrestle it for today’s post, but I’ll definitely come back to it.

Hopefully by the time the book cover finalization rolls around, I’ll have figured out how to condense the blurb even more without resorting to formulas and generic rhetorical questions. Will I be able to pull it off?

seewhatididthere


Beta reader spots are now filled!

NOTE: This is an edited version of the original post (obviously). I know the post has been up for less than a day, but all the beta reader positions have been claimed.

I’m blown away by all the positive responses to the synopsis and the request for beta readers. Thank you so much to those who volunteered to lend me a hand! I’m looking forward to completing this project.

To those who may still have wanted to volunteer or didn’t see the post until now, I’m sorry you missed out! I honestly never expected the spots to fly so quickly, and I even took on more beta readers than I had originally planned. Hopefully you’ll stick around for the release of Where The Woods Grow Wild later this fall!

Stay awesome, everyone.


I believe that brings the first sneak peek series post to an end! Thanks for stopping by to check it out. The next series post will go up Wednesday Sept 7th, and it’s all about the characters in Where The Woods Grow Wild. Be sure to come back!

In the meantime, have a fantastic day!

33 thoughts on “Where The Woods Grow Wild: Synopsis Reveal and Beta Reader Request

  1. I think the synopsis works well for the most part. If I could suggest tweaking the last few paragraphs like this,

    “But the forest isn’t done with them yet. When Martin and Elodie return to the woods in search of the animal that maimed him, they discover that more than animals come to play where the woods grow wild.

    Getting in is easy. Getting back out is the tricky part.”

    You’re really only losing a sentence with this; you might want to condense it further, but the third- and second-to-last paragraphs repeated the same idea and I like the second clause of the second-to-last more than the last clause of the third-to-last (mostly because you cleverly include your title in it!).

    Other than that, you might want to check over where you use past and present tenses; consistency is always a good thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dude. This sounds awesome. While condensing is probably a good idea, if I saw this blurb on Amazon I would buy it immediately. It’s very intriguing. You get a sense for both of the characters and what some of the tension will be. 🙂 Basically, I’m really excited. Go you!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jessi! I really appreciate that 🙂 Glad to have you on board! Is there an email address I may contact you at moving forward? (Please feel free to dm me on Twitter if you’d rather not post it here).

      Like

      1. You have a moderation on comments, right? I was thinking maybe I could tell you my email address and then you wouldn’t let it through, or something like that. Or I could give my email address and then once you have it delete it. I don’t have Twitter or any other social media account.

        Like

  3. I would love to beta read your book! I have been reading your tweets and blog posts about it and can not wait to read it (even if that means I have to kick into proof reading mode to do it) 🙂

    Like

    1. Awesome, and thank you! Your willingness is appreciated 🙂 Is there an email address I may contact you at moving forward? (I’ll delete it here for privacy, or you can dm me via Twitter if you want)

      Like

    1. Thanks, Luke! I’d be glad to have you on board. Is there an email address I may contact you at moving forward? (I’ll delete it here for privacy, or you can dm me via Twitter if you want)

      Like

  4. Hey Nate! I’ve been dying to read this ever since I started following your 1 line Wednesdays, so I’d love to beta-read for you if you’re not already full up. 🙂

    Like

    1. I have one spot left, and it now has your name on it! Thanks so much, Lauren, I really appreciate it 😀 Is there an email address I may contact you at moving forward? (If you comment here I can delete it quickly for privacy).

      Like

  5. Just missed the beta read opportunity!! (mainly because my phone is rubbish at notifications) I’ll just have to wait for the book!! Good luck, Nate! (not that you need it) And nice synopsis. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

