Top 10 Fantasy Books (So Far)

I read a lot of fantasy. In fact, I read almost exclusively fantasy. It dominates my bookshelf and my Kindle. Because of my love for the genre, I was quite surprised this morning when I realized I hadn’t ever made a list of my favorite fantasy books (I love lists almost as much as I love books).

My listlessly listless existence ends today, though it is not listlessly that I list this list. Here are my top 10 fantasy books so far. Don’t worry, no spoilers!

Note 1: this list will indubitably change as I read more books, and I’m only including books that I have read myself, so books like the Percy Jackson series or some newer releases aren’t included .

Note 1: I’m not limiting myself to high/epic fantasy. Some of these books may technically be of another genre (sci-fi or paranormal, for instance), but I consider them to be at least partially under the fantasy umbrella.

#10 The Two Towers

by J. R. R. Tolkien

the two towers

The Lord of The Rings trilogy is legendary, both the books and the movies. I think in either case the second installment is my favorite.

#9 The Graveyard Book

by Neil Gaiman

the graveyard book

I’m on a Neil Gaiman reading spree, and he is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors ever. The Graveyard Book may not be the most action-packed of his stories, but it’s beautifully told, and the ending packs an emotional punch.

#8 The High King

by Lloyd Alexander

high king

Lloyd Alexander was the first author to draw me into the fantasy realm, and the final book of the Prydain Chronicles was a literary landmark in my life. The characters…read the series, and you. Will. Love. Them.

#7 Bringer of Storms

by L. B. Graham

bringer of storms

The second book of The Binding of the Blade series, Bringer of Storms is potentially the darkest of them all, but it’s a riveting installment in a very fulfilling series.

#6 Circles of Seven

by Bryan Davis

circles of seven

The Dragons In Our Midst series impacted me as a teen more than I can explain, and Circles of Seven, the third book, is my favorite. If there was ever a protagonist you can identify with and want to be more like, it’s Billy Bannister.

#5 Stardust

by Neil Gaiman

stardust

The second Neil Gaiman book to make the list, Stardust was actually the first book I read by that author. It’s short and simple, but oh so beautiful.

#4 Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code

by Eoin Colfer

eternity code

If I’m being honest, I think any of the eight Artemis Fowl novels would be the most entertaining book on this list. The characters are so different and so much fun. Not only that, but the fourth book of the series, The Eternity Code, will entertain you and murder your emotions.

#3 The Name of the Wind

by Patrick Rothfuss

the name of the wind

With only two books written and the third on the way, either one of the Kingkiller Chronicles installments could have taken spot number three. The first book is about 1000 pages long, and I made it through in a few days. I think the best thing about it is that it focuses on a handful of characters, as opposed to the 100-point-of-view-character epics that bore me to death (no offense, Jordan).

#2 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

by J. K. Rowling

goblet of fire

I’m only specifying one book because I told myself I wasn’t allowed to include entire sagas in this list. That being said, all of the HP books deserve a spot, but I have to go with Goblet of Fire as my all-time favorite.

Honorable mentions

The Ocean At The End Of The Lane (Gaiman) (currently reading), The Hobbit (Tolkien), The Horse and His Boy (Lewis), This Present Darkness (Peretti).

#1 Brisingr

by Christopher Paolini

brisingr

I’ve never enjoyed nor immersed myself in a book as much as I did when reading Brisingr for the first time. I finished Eragon and Eldest before the third book of the Inheritance Cycle came out, so I was beyond excited to get my hands on it. Out of the four books, Brisingr is the most epic, the most action-packed, the most exciting, and the most I-can’t-put-this-down. Those who know me know that I have a love-hate relationship with the Inheritance Cycle, and it’s true. I think Eldest (the second book) was tedious for the most part, and Inheritance (the final book) was a big disappointment (not to mention the multiple instances of “inspiration” also known as plagiarism). That being said, Brisingr was and is a masterpiece, and it takes my top spot of fantasy books so far.


That completes my top 10 fantasy books I’ve read so far! I’ll definitely be updating this list in the coming months, as I plan on reading a lot. I’m sure your list is different from mine, but instead of throwing baby hippos at me, let me know what some of your favorites are!

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Fantasy Books (So Far)

  1. I agree that if I had to choose one book in the Harry Potter series as a favorite it would be Goblet of Fire. It’s the major pivotal event. All the characters grow, leaving behind the last vestiges of childhood and accept what lies ahead. It’s superbly crafted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

