20 Bookish Pet Peeves

Here are some of my pet peeves regarding books and the stories contained in them. Some of them are widely shared, while some may just be mine to hoard because I’m…special.

Physical book pet peeves…

Books of a series with different cover designs and/or heights.

Models/stock photos on book covers.

Books that don’t stay standing up.

Mixing fiction and nonfiction on the same shelf.

When people mistreat their books (see this article).

Books too short and thick to comfortably hold open.

Book series that follow the overdone blue-red-green-gold color scheme (or similar).

Books with a massive author photo on the back cover.

Stickers on book covers.

Books without a summary/blurb on the back cover (or at least in the dust jacket).

Book/story content pet peeves…

Titles revolving around the cliche ice/fire concept.

Love triangles.

The character whose sole purpose is to foil the protagonist’s significant relationship.

Excessive or confusing description.

A protagonist motivated only by fate/destiny.

Prophecies.

Elemental (fire, water, earth…) magic.

Overly archaic dialogue.

Chapters that are only a page or two long.

Lazy or unimaginative character names.


Of course, these are all just my opinion. What are some of your bookish pet peeves? You should totally make your own list and share it! Maybe in the near future I’ll write a post on 20 things I love to see in books to make up for this one…

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “20 Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Question then, what do you like about books? What’s one of your favorite plot devices? And when you say you don’t like magic, is that elemental magic that you don’t like? Or magic in general?

    Seems like cliches are what you dislike the most!

    Like

    1. Very fair questions 🙂 I love too many things about books (and fantasy, especially) to drop in a comment. I think I’ll make a post about them soon. You’re right, most of the things I don’t like in books are the ‘cliches’. Magic is fantastic (pun intended) when done right, for sure. I guess I’m not a fan of elemental magic because it feels like the easiest route, and it’s been done so many times.

      Like

  2. I liked quite a few of the points raised in this post and I do agree some of the tropes have been overused somewhat in the realm of fantasy writing especially. I do have a collection of David Eddings books, which due to different printing editions some are larger than the older versions. I’ve also read quite a few books with various magical constructs within the story and some are a bit cliched. I quite like David Gemmel’s approach to magic, which is a little different and also Chris Bunch, who writes in a more direct and less of a ‘high fantasy’ style, which I really enjoy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

