10 Random Writing Habits

Every writer has a particular set of habits that he/she abides by, sometimes for no clear reason. Here are ten of mine:

1 – I always write in 500-word chunks and take 5-10 minute breaks between each session.

2 – Out of all the mugs I own, only a select few are my official writing mugs. Two are for coffee, one is for tea.

mug
Ninja mug always makes sure I’m typing away at my manuscript…

3 – I switch back and forth between a desk-and-chair and a couch or recliner.

4 – I hold my breath when writing intense scenes.

5 – I never write in my bedroom.

6 – Many of my good ideas hit me during long car rides, but if I try to write on the road, I’ll be sick within 30 seconds.

7 – Every so often I’ll get a strong urge to write by hand, so I end up with notebooks full of disjointed scenes.

8 – I always edit a printed copy of my manuscript.

9 – Whenever I stop to think while writing I end up rubbing my jaw. Don’t ask why. I just do.

10 – I almost never touch my manuscript before lunch.

What are some of your writerly habits? Care to share? Drop a comment below! And while you’re at it, don’t forget to subscribe.

Keep calm and write on, friend!

17 thoughts on “10 Random Writing Habits

  1. I cross my arms and/or lean back in my chair while thinking and sometimes I lay my head on the desk. I usually always brainstorm before I go to bed. Sometimes I stay up for hours thinking about new ideas and lose sleep. I tend to make faces while writing and whisper what the characters lines are as I write. I probably have other habits but I can’t think of anymore.
    I notice a lot of writers drink tea and/or coffee. I feel I’m the only one who drinks neither on a regular basis. I only drink tea occasionally and I never drink coffee. Do you drink it just to stay awake or do you like the taste as well?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always type on my phone or a computer, it’s easier for me to get more done that way and is therefore encouraging to keep coming back to the manuscript.
    I write in short bursts that vary in word length but I usually have to force myself to start before I can get into the story.
    I keep a notebook full of ideas, whether pertaining to a manuscript or an entirely new story; but it’s one of the few things I still write in by hand.
    I make playlists of songs that, I feel, work with the book, certain characters, or particular themes. I’ve found it’s actually hard for me to write without some sort of music playing.
    Aside from that I’m an avid drinker of tea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always write the first draft by hand. When I’m in front of a computer, I’m always in editing mode, so I never get any writing done. Plus I really like the feel of a pen on paper. I’ve developed freakishly neat handwriting because I write by hand so much.
    Also I always talk out loud while I’m setting up the scene in my head but never while I’m writing it. Sometimes I’ll go stand in front of a mirror and do a whole dialogue complete with facial expressions and different voices for each character. Once I’ve got the rhythm of the conversation right, I’ll go write it down.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have number 9, more commonly known as “the sham genius symptom”. Genius’ throughout the ages have stroked nifty beards to aid thought process and those without get the urge to stroke their chin.

    Like

  5. Nice post!! Loving the ninja mug by the way! I don’t have many habits, but I do most of my writing in the morning. I also drink tea 😀 I have an adundance of notebooks, mostly where I jot down plots and ideas, with the odd few drawings for inspiration. It helps me when doing research to write things down and get them to settle in my mind. Hence the crammed bookshelves and the need for a home office! I also print my manuscripts to do editing as this makes it easier for me to find mistakes and correct them and how a chapter flows in context to the rest of the story. 🙂

    Like

      1. A little of each. In fact, it can be a great writing exercise to come up with a great title and allow a story to grow organically from it. The next fun thing is choosing which story will be the title of the entire collection.

        Like

Leave a Reply

