5 Things I Would Tell My Younger Writing Self

I started writing fiction when I was about 10 years old. For those of you who don’t know my age, that was twelve and a half years ago. Do the math.

I still remember the first novel I ever started (and never finished). Since then, I’ve grown A LOT as a writer and a person (I hope). I’ve learned a thing or two about my craft and about myself.


Fun fact: I won my first short story contest when I was twelve. It was a school contest. Mine was the only entry.


If I stumbled upon a time-machine and could go back to visit my younger self, here are five things I would tell myself (from a writer’s perspective):

To 20-year-old me… “Don’t rush. Be patient, be thorough. Write hard, edit harder, proofread hardest.”

To 18-year-old me… “Value humility. You’re good, but you’re not great. Be teachable and study your craft. Don’t assume you know more than the next guy.”

To 16-year-old me… “Finish what you start. Don’t chase new ideas like butterflies. Stick with a project until it’s done, then move on to the next.”

To 14-year-old me… “You’re not Christopher Paolini, so stop trying to be. Relax, have fun, and come up with your own ideas.”

To 10-year-old me… “Don’t let anyone mock you just because you named your main characters Pobo and Button. You do you, kid.”


Fun fact 2: I started my first significant novel project when I was 13. It was an epic fantasy story. I wrote 284 pages and then lost interest. I still have those pages.


 

If you could go back in time and visit yourself as a young writer, what advice would you take along? Drop a comment below, and don’t forget to share/subscribe!

Keep calm and write on, friend.

13 thoughts on “5 Things I Would Tell My Younger Writing Self

  1. love this post!! A few days ago I was looking over some of the stuff I wrote when I was 12. OMG.

    I would tell my 12-year-old me to “never, ever stop writing. You can hardly imagine some of the stories you’ll come up with one day – the good, the bad, the ugly. And the good will be worth it.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t start writing stories until 8 years ago. I didn’t write as much back then as I do now and the first story I wrote isn’t anything I would publish. I would probably say that awesome fantasy story you have dreaming to come up with since you were 13 will be coming in about five years.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. If I could magically meet my younger self–and she wasn’t freaked out at the sight of me–I would tell her, “Hang onto your dream. You will get there eventually” because that is what I tell myself now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

