What would we do without our fellow writers?

Warning: I’m feeling particularly snarky today. There, you’ve been warned. Proceed.

Writing communities are fantastic, and whether yours is a small group of friends in a coffee shop, an organized club, a Facebook group, or even the wide world of Twitter #amwriting spammers, you’re lucky to have those people in your life.

It’s Sunday, and we’re all lazy today (don’t lie to me, you sofa-spud), so for the sake of brevity and more coffee, I’ll keep my list of writing-community-benefits short.

Accountability: thank you, writerly friend, for that time you threw my TV, my phone, and my relatives out the window and hit me with a pool noodle until I crawled to my desk in tears.

Motivation: thank you, writerly friend, for that time you spammed my Twitter page with “You can do it, @derp” and “Only 2K words to go, @derp!” Your encouragement spurred me on to favorite all those tweets instead of meeting my deadline. You’re the best.

Feedback: thank you, writerly friend, for that time your email’s subject-line read “This chapter sucks. Start over.” Without you, I wouldn’t have realized that Ctrl + Alt + Delete would solve all my problems.

Inspiration: thank you, writerly friend, for finishing your first and second drafts in the time it took me to reboot my frozen laptop this morning. I wish to wordify as fastily as you someday.

Moral support: thank you, writerly friend, for buying me coffee and sitting with me while I sobbed over my first draft. Remember how pretty it was when my tears made tiny rivers with all the red ink?

Take a moment to thank the members of your writing community. Where would you be without them? Well, besides at your desk getting stuff done. That’s overrated.

2 thoughts on “What would we do without our fellow writers?

Leave a Reply

